2019 Senate Scorecard

Senate scorecard based on SJ284 votes.

November 5, every seat is up for election.
Know your district’s candidates!!

During the 2019 General Assembly session, 26 Senators supported the ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment by voting for SJ284. Of these Senators, 24 are seeking reelection. The remaining 14 Senators did not support ratification and 12 are seeking reelection.

If you need to look up your Virginia Senate district, you can do so at: https://whosmy.virginiageneralassembly.gov

Nov ’19 race status/link will open the district race page at VPAP.org
(race statuses last updated on 6/14/2019)

Senators who supported constitutional gender equality

Monty Mason (D) – 1st District (unopposed)

Mamie Locke (D) – 2nd District (unopposed)

Tommy Norment (R) – 3rd District (Dem challenger: Herb Jones)

Lionell Spruill (D) – 5th District (Ind challenger: Jeff Staples)

Lynwood Lewis (D) – 6th District (unopposed)

Frank Wagner (R) – 7th District (**Resigned**)
Cheryl Turpin (D; YES vote on HJ274) vs. Jen Kiggans (R)

William DeSteph (R) – 8th District (Dem challenger: Missy Cotter-Smasal)

Jennifer McClellan (D) – 9th District (Lib challenger: Mark Lewis)

Glen Sturtevant (R) – 10th District (Dem challenger: Ghazala Hashmi)

Siobhan Dunnavant (R) – 12th District (Dem challenger: Debra Rodman; YES vote on HR274)

Rosalyn Dance (D) – 16th District (**Lost Primary Challenge**)
Joe Morrissey (D) vs. Waylin Ross (I)

Louise Lucas (D) – 18th District (unopposed)

John Edwards (D) – 21st District (Ind challenger: Steven Nelson)

Emmett Hanger (R) – 24th District (Dem challenger: Annette Hyde)

Creigh Deeds (D) – 25th District (unopposed)

Jill Vogel (R) – 27th District (Dem challenger: Ronnie Ross)

Jeremy McPike (D) – 29th District (unopposed)

Adam Ebbin (D) – 30th District (unopposed)

Barbara Favola (D) – 31st District (unopposed)

Janet Howell (D) – 32nd District (Rep challenger: Arthur Purves)

Jennifer Boysko (D) – 33rd District (Rep challenger: Suzanne Fox)

Chap Petersen (D) – 34th District (unopposed)

Richard Saslaw (D) – 35th District (unopposed)

Scott Surovell (D) – 36th District (unopposed)

Dave Marsden (D) – 37th District (unopposed)

George Barker (D) – 39th District (unopposed)

Senators who did NOT support constitutional gender equality

Ryan McDougle (R) – 4th District (Dem challenger: Stan Scott)

Amanda Chase (R) – 11th District (Dem challenger: Amanda Pohl)

Dick Black (R) – 13th District (**Retiring**)
John Bell (D; YES vote on HR274) vs. Jasmine Moawad-Barrientos (I) vs. Geary Higgans (R)

John Cosgrove (R) – 14th District (unopposed)

Frank Ruff (R) – 15th District (Dem challenger: Virginia Smith)

Bryce Reeves (R) – 17th District (Dem challenger: Amy Laufer)

David Suetterlein (R) – 19th District (Dem challenger: Flo Ketner)

Bill Stanley (R) – 20th District (unopposed)

Mark Peake (R) – 22nd District (Dem challenger: Dakota Claytor)

Steve Newman (R) – 23rd District (unopposed)

Mark Obenshain (R) – 26th District (Dem challenger: April Moore)

Richard Stuart (R) – 28th District (Dem challenger: Qasim Rashid)

Ben Chafin (R) – 38th District (unopposed)

Charles Carrico (R) – 40th District (**Running for other office**)
Ken Heath (I) vs. Todd Pillion (R; NO vote on HR274)